nocoupon
 
 My Account
Your Shopping Cart

0 Products | €0.00

 
 
 

INTERESTING FACTS ABOUT THE CARDIOVASCULAR SYSTEM

Vital substances and medicinal plants for the cardiovascular system with scientifically well-documented effects

Garlic (Allium sativum L.) belongs to the family of bulbous plants. It is one of the oldest herbs and medicinal plants. Botanically speaking, garlic is closely related to wild garlic (Allium ursinum L.). The garlic bulb consists of a main clove which is surrounded by several subordinate cloves (cloves). Its main ingredients are aliin and similar sulphurous compounds, saponines, vitamins and selenium. The use of garlic for the prevention of age-related changes in the blood vessels (arteriosclerosis) as well as to provide support for hypertension and increased blood fat levels is scientifically proven. It is also known for its antibacterial properties.

The mistletoe (Viscum L.) grows like a shrub in the shape of a large sphere on branches of tall trees. It is highly visible during winter, when the trees lose their leaves. This medicinal plant belongs to the family of Santalaceae, and is popular in herbal medicine to provide support for hypertension.

Hawthorn (Crataegus) belongs to the rose family (Rosaceae). It grows throughout Europe and the Eastern Mediterranean region, preferring locations with moderate climate changes. Hawthorn plant extracts as a basic ingredient of medicinal products possess a number of valuable ingredients, especially flavonoids (flavones, flavonols, procyanidin oligimers) and tannins. Hawthorn is able to increase the heart's the contraction force and dilate the blood vessels, especially the coronary arteries, thereby improving the oxygen supply to the heart muscle. In herbal medicine, hawthorn is therefore used to treat mild heart conditions and “ageing hearts”.

Salmon oil is high in the omega-3 fatty acids EPA and DHA and a daily intake of at least 250 mg EPA and DHA contributes to a normal heart function. The health benefits of a diet rich in omega-3 fatty acids have been observed in Eskimos, who have more favourable blood lipid levels and a healthier cardiovascular system than populations with a lower fish consumption. In addition to salmon, some fatty fish such as herring or mackerel also serve as good sources of omega-3 fatty acids – as does krill oil, which is enjoying ever increasing popularity. But not everybody likes fish, and the annoying bones can easily put an end to the pleasure of eating. A good alternative to supplementing your intake of omega-3 fatty acids are therefore fish and krill oil, which come in convenient capsules that are quick to consume.

vitamin E is a fat-soluble vitamin. Free radicals, which are absorbed from the environment or created in metabolic processes, can damage our cells. Vitamin E contributes to the protection of cells from oxidative stress. Vegetable oils from olives, grape seeds, thistle or wheat germs are good sources of vitamin E and should be used more often when preparing salads. Did you know that vitamin C contributes to the regeneration of vitamin E levels that are depleted due to the defence against radicals? In addition, vitamin C contributes to normal collagen formation for the function of the blood vessels.

<<< back

Interesting facts about your heart

The heart is the engine that powers the circulatory system. It incessantly pumps blood through our blood vessels and supplies the cells with oxygen and nutrients. At the same time, it removes metabolites or waste products that have formed. The human heart has a regular rhythm of around 60-80 beats per minute. It pumps around 5 to 6 litres of blood through our arteries and veins every minute. The heart is a hollow muscle with a weight of around 300 grams. It is divided into four chambers: into the right and left atria, and the two heart chambers (ventricles). The heart valves ensure that the blood only flows in one direction. The heart itself needs a large amount of oxygen and vital substances. That is why it is supplied with blood through the coronary arteries. Approximately 10% of the total amount of blood that is carried is needed for this purpose.

<<< back

Interesting facts about the veins

The blood vessel system consists of arteries and veins. Arteries carry oxygen-rich blood away from the heart into all parts of the body. The blood is carried back to the heart via the veins. The pressure inside the arteries is high due to the pumping action of the heart. In the veins, this pressure is much lower, and in itself is too low to force the blood back again – against gravity. Muscle movements and breathing also help the blood to flow back.

The veins are equipped with valves, so-called venous valves, which only permit the flow of blood in the direction of the heart and therefore normally prevent the blood from flowing back and “sinking in”. The superficial venous system directly under the skin only transports about 10% of the blood. The deep venous system, located in the muscles is functionally more important.

Tips for every day...

  • Sufficient exercise strengthens the leg muscles and supports the venous function.
  • Cold gushes and warm and cold showers refresh the legs and stimulate blood circulation.
  • Targeted vein gymnastics such as moving your legs in a circle or bouncing on the tips of your toes should be integrated into your daily routine as often as possible.
  • Do not expose yourself to excessive temperatures, e.g. in summer. (Heat causes the blood vessels to expand, allowing the blood to “sink into” the veins of the legs even faster.)
  • Do not shy away from putting up your legs and keep them slightly higher during the night to take the burden off stressed legs.
  • Comfortable socks are key! Stay away from cuffs that give you pressure marks. And do not forget the well-established rule: Don't sit and stand, stroll and stretch!

<<< back

Cardiovascular diseases

Germany's no. 1 cause of death:
Cardiovascular diseases are the most frequent cause of death in Germany. Around 50% of all deaths can be attributed to it. In most cases, the cause is arteriosclerosis (“hardening of the arteries”), which develops insidiously over decades.

Arteriosclerosis begins as early as in childhood and progresses increasingly with age. Small internal injuries of the arterial walls lead to inflammatory reactions, proliferations of the connective tissue and the deposition of metabolic products such as cholesterol. All this leads to the thickening and hardening of the vessel walls over time. This constricts the blood vessels and the flow of blood is interrupted. At the same time, vascular elasticity decreases and the blood pressure rises.

In turn, the increasing blood pressure causes new damage and promotes the progression of the disease. The speed and severity at which arteriosclerosis develops depends primarily on personal lifestyle. A number of factors can increase the risk of contracting the disease. These include obesity, diabetes mellitus, high blood pressure, elevated cholesterol levels and smoking, as well as daily stress and physical inactivity.

The consequences of arteriosclerosis will depend on where it occurs. Particularly frequent changes occur in the coronary vessels (coronary arteries). The coronary arteries serve to supply the heart itself with blood and thus with oxygen and nutrients. Narrowing them will lead to coronary heart disease (CHD). Because the heart is poorly supplied with blood, it will lose some of its power.

As a consequence, angina pectoris (tightness in the chest), cardiac arrhythmias (disturbances of the heart's rhythm) and heart failure, as well as acute, life-threatening complications such as heart attacks and sudden cardiac death can occur. In addition, changes to the cerebral blood vessels lead to a reduced blood supply to the brain and increasing restrictions to mental performance. In extreme cases this can cause a stroke. However, other organs, such as the large arteries in the legs, or the kidneys, may also be affected by arteriosclerosis.

<<< back

Tips for a healthy cardiovascular system that will make your heart skip a beat...

A positive lifestyle consisting of a healthy diet, adequate activities which are good for your heart, or a targeted intake of dietary supplements are the basis for a healthy cardiovascular system. This includes giving up smoking and reducing your alcohol consumption to an acceptable level.

Exercise strengthens the cardiovascular system:
Regular physical activity in the form of mild endurance training can reduce many risk factors. Among others, it reduces the blood pressure and bad LDL cholesterol, whilst increasing HDL cholesterol, which protects the heart.

The right body weight:
Too high a body weight is a burden for the cardiovascular system. A combination of daily exercise and a balanced diet helps you keep your weight in check – or to reach your ideal weight.

A varied and balanced diet:
Plenty of fruit and vegetables – preferably a varied mix, plus sufficient wholegrain products and pulses as well as vegetable oils, low-fat dairy products and fatty fish rich in omega-3 fatty acids (herring, mackerel, salmon), similar to a Mediterranean diet, belong on every menu. These provide our body with plenty of fibre, high-quality fatty acids and protective substances with an antioxidant effect, which can have a positive impact on the cardiovascular system.

In line with the motto “One man's meat is another man's poison”, the daily consumption of meat products and meat should be reduced to a minimum. Meat products and meat contain large amounts of saturated fatty acids which can have a negative influence on our blood fat levels. In addition, they provide high levels of energy and promote excessive weight gain. However, it is not necessary to ban meat products, meat and delicious butter from your diet altogether as they provide essential vitamins. It is simply the quantity that counts.

Extra tip:
Walnuts contribute to greater vascular elasticity. To achieve this effect, a daily intake of 30 g of this healthy snack is recommended. Apples contain pectins which contribute to the preservation of normal blood cholesterol levels. The positive effect sets in with a daily pectin intake of 6 g. This would equal the consumption of approx. 3-4 apples a day.

Giving up smoking:
It has been known for a long time that smoking greatly increases the risk of cardiovascular disease. The number of cigarettes smoked daily and the length of time a person has smoked both play an important role. Giving up smoking reduces the risk of vascular diseases by 50 to 70% after just 1 to 5 years!

Specific dietary supplements:
We do not always manage to eat an ideal diet. Dietary supplements which specifically support the heart function, cell protection and the blood vessels can be useful in this case.

<<< back

nocoupon
 
 Mein Konto
Ihr Warenkorb

0 Artikel | 0,00 €

 
 
 

Wissenswertes zum Thema Herz-Kreislauf-System

Vitalstoffe und Heilpflanzen für das Herz-Kreislauf-System mit wissenschaftlich gut dokumentierter Wirkung

Knoblauch (Allium sativum L.) gehört zur Familie der Zwiebelgewächse. Er zählt zu den ältesten Gewürz- und Heilpflanzen. Botanisch gesehen ist Knoblauch eng mit dem Bärlauch (Allium ursinum L.) verwandt. Die Knoblauch-Zwiebel besteht aus einer Hauptzehe, die von mehreren Nebenzehen (Zehen) umgeben ist. Als Hauptinhaltsstoffe gelten Alliin und ähnliche schwefelhaltige Verbindungen, Saponine, Vitamine und Selen. Wissenschaftlich anerkannt sind die Anwendungen von Knoblauch zur Vorbeugung von altersbedingten Gefäßveränderungen (Artheriosklerose) sowie zur Unterstützung bei Bluthochdruck und erhöhten Blutfettwerten. Auch die antibakteriellen Eigenschaften sind bekannt. 

Mistel (Viscum L.) wächst buschartig in Form einer großen Kugel auf Ästen großer Bäume – gut erkennbar im Winter, wenn die Bäume das Laub verlieren. Die Arzneipflanze gehört zur Gattung der Sandelholzgewächse und wird in der Pflanzenheilkunde gern zur Unterstützung bei Bluthochdruck verwendet. 

Weissdorn (Crataegus) zählt zur Familie der Rosengewächse (Rosaceae). Er gedeiht in ganz Europa und im östlichen Mittelmeerraum, bevorzugt an Standorten mit ausgeglichenen Wärmeverhältnissen. Pflanzenextrakte des Weissdorns als Ausgangsstoff zur Herstellung von Arzneimitteln besitzen eine Reihe wertvoller Inhaltsstoffe, insbesondere Flavonoide (Flavone, Flavonole, oligomere Procyanidine) und Gerbstoffe. Weissdorn ist in der Lage, die Kontraktionskraft des Herzens zu steigern und die Gefäße, insbesondere die Herzkranzgefäße, zu erweitern. Dadurch wird die Sauerstoffversorgung des Herzmuskels verbessert. In der Pflanzenheilkunde wird Weissdorn bei leichter Herzschwäche und dem „Altersherz“ eingesetzt. 

Lachsöl enthält einen hohen Anteil an den Omega-3-Fettsäuren EPA und DHA, wobei eine tägliche Zufuhr von mindestens 250 mg EPA und DHA zu einer normalen Herzfunktion beiträgt . Der gesundheitliche Nutzen einer Omega-3-fettsäurereichen Ernährung wurde bei den Eskimos beobachtet. Eskimos weisen durch ihre fischreiche Kost ein gesünderes Herz-Kreislauf-System als Bevölkerungsgruppen mit einem niedrigeren Fischkonsum auf. Einige Fettfische wie Hering oder Makrele sind neben dem Lachs ebenso gute Lieferanten von Omega-3-Fettsäuren – auch das immer beliebter werdende Krillöl. Doch nicht alle mögen Fisch und die lästigen Gräten können mitunter den Essgenuss rasch mindern. Eine gute Alternative zur ergänzenden Versorgung mit Omega-3-Fettsäuren sind deshalb Fisch- oder Krillöl in praktischer Kapselform zum schnellen Verzehr.

Vitamin E ist ein fettlösliches Vitamin. Freie Radikale aus der Umwelt aufgenommen oder bei Stoffwechselprozessen entstanden, können unsere Zellen schädigen. Vitamin E trägt dazu bei, die Zellen vor oxidativem Stress zu schützen. Pflanzenöle aus Olive, Traubenkernen, Distel oder Weizenkeimen sind gute Vitamin E-Lieferanten und sollten zur Zubereitung von Salaten bevorzugt Verwendung finden. Wussten Sie, dass Vitamin C zur Regeneration von reduziertem (durch Radikalabwehr verbrauchtem) Vitamin E beiträgt? Zudem trägt Vitamin C zu einer normalen Kollagenbildung für die Funktion der Blutgefäße bei.

<<< zurück

Wissenswertes zu unserem Herz 

Das Herz ist der Motor des Blutkreislaufes. Es pumpt beständig Blut durch unsere Gefäße und versorgt so die Zellen mit Sauerstoff und Nährstoffen. Zugleich transportiert es die entstandenen Stoffwechsel- oder Abfallprodukte ab. Das menschliche Herz schlägt in einem regelmäßigen Rhythmus von 60–80 Schlägen pro Minute. Dabei pumpt es pro Minute etwa 5 – 6 Liter Blut durch unsere Arterien und Venen. Das Herz ist ein Hohlmuskel mit ca. 300 Gramm Gewicht. Dieser ist in vier Kammern unterteilt: in den rechten und linken Herzvorhof (Atrien) sowie in die beiden Herzkammern (Ventrikel). Die Herzklappen sorgen dafür, dass das Blut nur in eine Richtung fließt. Das Herz hat selbst einen hohen Bedarf an Sauerstoff und Vitalstoffen. Deshalb wird es über die Herzkranzgefäße mit Blut versorgt. Hierfür werden ca. 10 % der transportierten Blutmenge benötigt.

<<< zurück

Wissenswertes zu den Venen

Das Blutgefäßsystem besteht aus Arterien und Venen. Arterien transportieren das sauerstoffreiche Blut vom Herz weg in alle Bereiche des Körpers. Über die Venen gelangt es zum Herz zurück. In den Arterien herrscht durch die Pumpleistung des Herzens ein hoher Druck. In den Venen ist dieser deutlich niedriger und reicht allein nicht aus, um das Blut wieder – entgegen der Schwerkraft – zurückzuführen. Muskelbewegung und Atmung tragen zusätzlich zum Rückfluss des Blutes bei.

Die Venen sind mit Ventilen, sogenannten Venenklappen ausgestattet, die den Blutstrom nur in Richtung Herz zulassen und so normalerweise verhindern, dass das Blut wieder zurückfließt und „versackt“. Das oberflächliche Venensystem direkt unter der Haut transportiert nur ca. 10% des Blutes. Funktionell wichtiger ist das in der Muskulatur liegende tiefe Venensystem.

Tipps für den Alltag ...

  • Ausreichend Bewegung stärkt die Beinmuskulatur und unterstützt die Venenfunktion.
     
  • Kalte Güsse und Wechselduschen erfrischen die Beine und regen die Blutzirkulation an.
     
  • Gezielte Venengymnastik wie Beinkreisen oder das Federn auf den Fußspitzen zwischendurch so oft wie möglich in den Alltag integrieren.
     
  • Setzen Sie sich nicht zu hohen Temperaturen z.B. in den Sommermonaten aus. (Wärme weitet die Blutgefäße, so kann das Blut noch schneller in den Beinvenen „versacken“) 
     
  • Die Füße auch gern mal hochlegen und während der Nachtruhe etwas höher lagern, das entlastet beanspruchte Beine. 
     
  • Bequeme Socken und Strümpfe sind das A und O, einschneidende Bündchen sollten vermieden werden. 

 

Kennen Sie die altbewährte Regel? Lieber Laufen und Liegen statt Sitzen und Stehen!

<<< zurück

Herz-Kreislauf-Erkrankungen

Todesursache Nr.1 in Deutschland Erkrankungen von Herz und Kreislauf stellen die wichtigste Todesursache in Deutschland dar. Rund 50% aller Todesfälle gehen hierauf zurück. Ursache ist in den meisten Fällen eine Arteriosklerose („Arterienverkalkung“), die sich über Jahrzehnte schleichend entwickelt.

Die Arteriosklerose beginnt bereits im Kindesalter und schreitet mit zunehmendem Alter immer weiter voran. Durch feine innere Verletzungen der Arterienwand kommt es dabei zu entzündlichen Reaktionen, Bindegewebswucherungen und der Ablagerung von Stoffwechselprodukten wie Cholesterin. Dies alles führt im Laufe der Zeit zu einer Verdickung und Verhärtung der Gefäßwand. Hierdurch verengen sich die Gefäße und der Blutfluss wird gestört. Gleichzeitig nimmt die Gefäßelastizität ab und der Blutdruck steigt.

Der steigende Blutdruck wiederum führt zu neuen Schädigungen und begünstigt das Voranschreiten der Erkrankung. Mit welcher Geschwindigkeit und Ausprägung sich eine Arteriosklerose entwickelt, hängt wesentlich vom Lebensstil ab. Verschiedene Faktoren können das Erkrankungsrisiko erhöhen. Hierzu zählen Übergewicht, Diabetes mellitus, Bluthochdruck, erhöhte Cholesterinspiegel und Rauchen, aber auch Alltags-Stress und Bewegungsmangel.

Welche Folgen eine Arteriosklerose nach sich zieht, hängt davon ab, wo sie auftritt. Besonders häufig treten Veränderung der Herzkranzgefäße (Koronararterien) auf. Die Herzkranzgefäße dienen dazu, das Herz selbst mit Blut und damit mit Sauerstoff und Nährstoffen zu versorgen. Verengen sie sich, kommt es zur koronaren Herzkrankheit (KHK). Weil das Herz schlechter durchblutet ist, verliert es an Leistung.

Als Folge hiervon treten Angina pectoris (Brustenge), Herzrhythmusstörungen und Herzinsuffizienz sowie akute, lebensbedrohliche Komplikationen wie Herzinfarkt und plötzlicher Herztod auf. Veränderungen der Hirngefäße führen hingegen zu einer Minderdurchblutung des Gehirns und zunehmenden Einschränkungen der geistigen Leistungsfähigkeit. Im Extremfall kann es zu einem Schlaganfall kommen. Aber auch andere Organe können von Arteriosklerose betroffen sein, z. B. die großen Beinarterien oder die Nieren.

<<< zurück

Tipps für ein gesundes Herz-Kreislauf-System - da lacht das Herz...

Ein guter Lebensstil bestehend aus gesunder Ernährung, adäquaten herzgesunden Aktivitäten oder gezielter Nahrungsergänzung sind die Grundlagen für ein gesundes Herz-Kreislauf-System. Dazu gehören auch der Verzicht auf das Rauchen und die Reduktion des Alkoholkonsums auf ein akzeptables Maß.

Bewegung stärkt das Herz-Kreislauf-System:
Regelmäßige körperliche Aktivität in Form von leichtem Ausdauertraining kann viele Risikofaktoren verringern. So werden u.a. der Blutdruck und das schlechte LDL-Cholosterin (Lass Das Lieber-Cholesterin) gesenkt, das herzschützende HDL-Cholesterin (Hab Das Lieb-Cholesterin) steigt dagegen an.

Das richtige Körpergewicht:
Ein zu hohes Körpergewicht belastet das Herz-Kreislauf-System. Die Kombination aus täglicher Bewegung und ausgewogener Ernährung helfen, das richtige Körpergewicht zu halten oder zu erreichen.

Vielseitige und ausgewogene Ernährung:
Reichlich Obst und Gemüse - am besten bunt zusammengestellt plus ausreichend Vollkornprodukte und Hülsenfrüchte sowie pflanzliche Öle, magere Milchprodukte und fettreiche Fischsorten mit hohem Anteil an Omega-3-Fettsäuren (Hering, Makrele, Lachs) lautet die Speiseplan-Devise, angelehnt an die mediterrane Kost. So werden unserem Körper jede Menge Ballaststoffe, hochwertige Fettsäuren und antioxidative Schutzstoffe geliefert, die sich positiv auf das Herz-Kreislauf-System auswirken können.

Entgegen dem bekannten Leitsatz „In der Not schmeckt die Wurst auch ohne Brot“ sollten Wurst und Fleisch in der täglichen Ernährung reduziert werden. Wurst und Fleisch enthalten gesättigte Fettsäuren zu großen Anteilen, welche einen ungünstigen Einfluss auf die Blutfettwerte haben können. Zum anderen liefern sie sehr viel Energie und begünstigen die Entstehung von Übergewicht. Jedoch muss nicht auf Wurst, Fleisch und die schmackhafte Butter als Lieferanten essentieller Vitamine verzichtet werden. Hier ist lediglich die zugeführte Menge entscheidend.

Extra Tipp:
Walnüsse tragen dazu bei, die Elastizität der Blutgefäße zu verbessern. Um diesen Effekt zu erzielen, werden täglich 30 g des gesunden Knabberspaßes empfohlen. Äpfel enthalten Pektine, welche zur Aufrechterhaltung eines normalen Cholesterinspiegels im Blut beitragen. Die positive Wirkung stellt sich bei einer täglichen Aufnahme von 6 g Pektinen ein. Dafür müsste man ca. 3-4 Äpfel am Tag essen.

Verzicht aufs Rauchen:
Es ist schon lange bekannt, dass Rauchen das Risiko für Herz-Kreislauf-Erkrankungen deutlich erhöht. Dabei spielen sowohl die Anzahl der täglich gerauchten Zigaretten als auch die Dauer des Rauchens eine wichtige Rolle. Der Verzicht aufs Rauchen reduziert das Risiko für die Entstehung von Gefäßerkrankungen bereits nach 1-5 Jahren um 50-70%!

Gezielte Nahrungsergänzung:
Nicht immer gelingt es, sich so zu ernähren, wie es wünschenswert ist. Dann können Nahrungsergänzungsmittel hilfreich sein, die gezielt die Herzfunktion, den Zellschutz und die Blutgefäße unterstützen.

<<< zurück

 

4.89 / 5.00 of 4468 reviews.